Header: button and text

Hi!

I really like your theme! I’m quite new to Wordpress and have a few questions about changing a few things.

1. Can I add one more header button next to the existing one? How?
  2. Can I get the URL-link for the header button to open in a new tab/window? How?
  3. I don’t want the header text and the header button to fade away when scrolling down, can I change that? How?

Thank you so much for your help!

Hello Hanna,

1. You can do it with jQuery.

Please install and activate Insert Headers and Footers plugin that will allow you to insert JavaScript (jQuery) code.

Go to your DashboardSettingsInsert Headers and Footers → add the following code to Scripts in Header section, and click Save button:

<script type='text/javascript'>
    jQuery(document).ready(function(){
        jQuery('a.button.header-button').after(jQuery('<a href="2ndButtonLink" class="second-button button header-button">2ndButtonName</a>'));
    });
</script>

Please replace 2ndButtonLink and 2ndButtonName with desirable values.

Also you might want to reduce the space between buttons with the following CSS code:

.header-button {
    margin-top: 15px !important;
}

You can add CSS code to your site with Simple Custom CSS plugin (just copy CSS code and paste it in Dashboard → Appearance → Custom CSS after installing and activating the plugin). Also you can add CSS code directly to style.css file of your child theme.

2. You can make your buttons links to open in a new tab by adding this jQuery code:

jQuery('a.button.header-button').attr('target', '_blank');
    });
</script>

The result (jQuery code that can resolve both your issues) should look like this:

jQuery('a.button.header-button').after(jQuery('<a href="2ndButtonLink" class="second-button button header-button">2ndButtonName</a>'));
        jQuery('a.button.header-button').attr('target', '_blank');
    });
</script>

Please feel free to ask any other questions that you might have.

Kind Regards, Roman.