Editing Sydney child theme and html

So im a complete noob to html wordpress css and the child theme but im getting a better idea on how things work with tuts the forum and everything. Even through im not in position yet to be a perfectionist about these things id like to have an idea or the tools to find out how to do things correctly. I see the way i put most code actually does matter for google and stuff and since im trying to get into schema.org code too I need to know what Im doing wrong. Im editing most of the code just for optimization reasons since I dont have any layout on my theme yet. I add plugins to help me to the work but I want to know is there any junk I can get rid of in terms of code? How do I find out? AND FINALLY about the theme. So I place all my footer header and .php things in my child theme stylesheet I dont use the theme functions space at all. So what I literally do is copy my sydney parent code to the child theme style sheet and just divide them. Is this wrong? How can I work that out? Thank you for reading.

Hello there,

Thank you for getting in touch here

> … I want to know is there any junk I can get rid of in terms of code?

I believe there is no junk code in our theme. It is carefully crafted based on WordPress coding standard, otherwise it won’t be live in the official WordPress.org themes directory.

Or do you have your own criterion of the “junk”? If so, please let us know. Maybe this is something we can improve in the future.

> … I literally do is copy my sydney parent code to the child theme style sheet and just divide them. Is this wrong?

You don’t need to copy the parent theme’s style sheet to the child theme’s. Because it is already printed in front end. Use the child theme’s style.css for adding new style rules and override the parent’s.

Regards,
Kharis