Child theme appears to not be working after recent theme update

Hi there.

I’m still relatively new to WP, so hopefully I’ve missed something fairly simple. We are using Syndey Pro for a client site, and we created a Child theme when we first started to work on the site a few months back, as we are doing some customization to the CSS. One of the areas we customized was the colour of all the heads on the site (h1s to H6s).

After the most recent update (today for me) the custom blue colour used on the heads is no longer showing when I update a page or post - an update as simple as adding a single line of text and then hitting the update button. No edits actually were made to any of the heads so far, and no edits were made to the CSS yet today.

The heads now appear in black on any page that I updated after the recent theme update. On pages I have not changed or updated the blue colour still shows on the heads.

Did I need to do anything specific to the Child theme of Sydney Pro after I updated the parent Sydney Pro theme? (i.e. re-link it to the parent theme somehow?)

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

Hello BarlowBooks,

Can you please provide some explanatory screenshots with a link to your website to let me inspect it?

You can upload screenshots to your WordPress Media Library and share a link, or you can use one of the online screenshot services.

Kind Regards, Roman.

Hi,

If you’re referring to pages built with the Page Builder plugin, it’s probably because we’ve now added an option to the page builder to change the headings’ color. You can either use that option, or simply append !important in your child theme to your blue color so that it doesn’t get overridden.

Hi there. Thanks for your responses.

We managed to discover the changes made to the page builder plug-in on our own (via reviewing page source code in Dreamweaver), and we appended “!important” to our CSS code prior to getting your message.